Are “Too” Many Games Coming out in November?

Let’s face it the fourth quarter of the year is always packed with great AAA games, but one month in particular is jammed packed with AAA games. That month is November.

Call of Duty normally comes out every November, which is always the biggest game of the year. Breaking sales records with every new installment. Well it looks like Call of Duty isn’t the only big AAA game coming out in November. EA thought it would be smart to release Battlefield 3 on the same month, another military shooter. Don’t get me wrong Battlefield 3 looks incredible. It’s great that EA is competing with Activision, but trying to compete with Modern Warfare 3 is a gamble, seeing as Modern Warfare 3 is the bigger and more established franchise. Gamers don’t normally buy a lot of games per month, seeing as they cost quiet a bit of money. Especially in Australia! Gamers have to make a choice of which game is worth their hard earned cash, not talking about little kids with allowances! Sure there’s gamers that buy every big AAA game that comes out, but they aren’t the majority.

I normally buy a few brand new games a year, or I wait for a price drop. But the bigger games I buy day one! For instance Uncharted 3 is coming out in November as well, adding another great game in November. Along with that The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim comes out in November as well. Boy November is looking like a big month for great games. With all sorts of different genres. You got your shooters with Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3, which a lot of gamers are saying they’re buying both. Which I agree with, since both games bring different things to the table. You got Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception coming out on the PlayStation 3, a sequel to the Game of the Year Uncharted 2: Among Thieves for 2009. You also got Skyrim coming out, a much anticipated open world RPG developed by Bethesda Game Studios. To add the icing on the cake Need for Speed: The Run and Metal Gear Solid HD Collection are coming out as well in the same month! Sure they’re not as high profiled as some of the other games coming out, but they’re still tempting to get. Is it really smart to release so many AAA games in the same month? I mean we’re not made of money, because I sure as hell aren‘t!

Usually when I got out and buy games I look for games that will give me the biggest bang for my buck. Call of Duty usually does the trick, but I don’t only want to play Call of Duty. Seeing as I’m getting a bit tired of the series. Which is why I’m picking up Battlefield 3 as well, for a more tactical approach to shooters. Now I also want a great single player experience which is why I’m picking up Uncharted 3 and Skyrim, both great games! Uncharted 3 is also coming with multiplayer, co-op single player, and co-op multiplayer. Talk about more bang for your buck! Most gamers aren’t going to be picking up all of those games. Most likely they’ll just pick up Modern Warfare 3 or Battlefield 3.  For those single player gamers it’s either Uncharted 3 or Skyrim, or even both. I mean why not. The thing that I’m worried about is that some of these games won’t sell as much copies as they should, well we don’t have to worry about Modern Warfare. If these publishers were smart they’d release some of these games a bit earlier or later. Because I want to put some time into Skyrim, Modern Warfare 3, Battlefield 3, and Uncharted 3. Seeing as three of those games have multiplayer. Which is addicting I might add. I also want to add Assassin’s Creed: Revelations to the growing list of incredible games coming out in November. I can’t believe Assassin’s Creed: Revelations slipped my mind. Another great game! With a great single player and multiplayer. So what do you guys think, are too much games coming out in November? Or are you getting all of them and skipping work and school?

17 thoughts on “Are “Too” Many Games Coming out in November?

  1. I will wait on MW3, to see what the reviews say. As for Uncharted, Resistance and Battlefield, those are day one buys without question.

  2. Good article! It actually helped me realise what games are out on the 4th Quarter so I can get my spending plan ready =)
    To be honest, and this has gotten pretty cliche lately, but I’ve had enough of FPS for a while. I’ve just downloaded a few ‘old’ FPS (Half-life 1 + mods) so I can satisfy my FPS needs. I’ve also gotten quite bored of online shooters, so unless Battlefield 3 has a spectacular campaign, its not on my list. The lack of zombies in MW3 just turned me off Call of Duty. Uncharted 3 however is probably a first day (probably first week) buy. The animation in the videos I watched so far are incredible.
    I never really warmed up to Elder Scrolls. Which according to some of my friends means I should be whipped.
    Honestly the only game I’ve cared enough to follow intently is Infamous 2 and Splinter Cell trilogy.
    I was wondering if the MGS HD remake is going to be a first day buy for you. I mean it is Metal Gear Solid, but they’re only remakes..

    • I never played any of the Metal Gear Solid games so I’m picking up the HD collection, as well as the games I listed in the article. Thanks for taking your time and reading, I really do appreciate it 🙂

  3. Dude this is the best article iv read in a while; unbiased and a true gamers opinion. Id been thinking about all the titles in the back of my head and you’v made it a bit easier.

    • Thanks 🙂 I love to the hear the feedback, I’m just giving my honest gamers opinion without sounding biased lol. Glad you enjoyed the article.

  4. On the last Elder’s Scroll’s game, I put in over 230 hours of gameplay. Needless to say, I strongly recommend it, and it is on the top of my list of November buys. The last 2 Call of Duty’s really turned me off, especially Black Ops. The MW3 gameplay trailer didn’t impress me either, nothing looks new, they’re playing it too safe I think. I like Battlefield better, so it is tied second with the new Assassin’s Creed. I never liked (or played) the uncharted games, just something about a 3rd person RPG mixed with a 3rd person shooter that I don’t like… I would have to look into it. If the new Need for Speed is like Carbon or Undercover, I may get that later, once the price is lower, but if it’s another drag racing style, I will pass.

    My order of preference would be Skyrim first, Battlefield 3 second, AC Revelations in a close third, Call of Duty MW3 next, with NFS and then Uncharted. I don’t think Metal Gear Solid is really worth the time, what’s classic should stay classic.

  5. I currently have about 50 Euro to spend for a new game. The problem is the mind-breaking decision of which game to invest in. Some of my friends have already pre-ordered MW3 and also Battlefield . The thing is I would rather play a good game with my friends at the end of the day.
    I also have lately baught assassin ‘s creed 1,2 and brotherhood and i am so excited about the new one . The gameplay of assassin’s creed was always mind-blowing action and the multiplayer of brotherhood was really well designed. In revelations the producers sharpen the multiplayer making it more user friendly.
    Skyrim is a pretty good looking game too , It has countless hours of gameplay and the graphics are just incredible .
    Pls help me decide thnx for reading, I really liked your article , it speaks for the gamer’s wallet.

    • If you’re looking for a good game to play with your friends, I would have to suggest (even though I hate to) that you get MW3. The CoD franchise has always been good about allowing you to have private matches, and is geared towards casual gameplay. But what you’re winning by playing with your friends, you’re losing in almost every other aspect imaginable. Unimproved graphics, outdated engine, small map size, noob cushions (Kill streaks, “Balanced” weapons), lack of realism, etc…

      The Battlefield franchise sucks at allowing private matches, it’s difficult to join a game with your friends, and even when you do it is too intense to actually enjoy the benefits of playing with your friends, but that is about the only thing I have going against the franchise.

      If you’re looking to straight up lose your life, get Skyrim. I would suggest getting that first, because by the time you’re done with it, the current generation of consoles will be outdated, and the next Battlefield and CoD games will already be released.

      At least, that’s what happened to me when I got Morrowind. For the record, I spent 3 years playing Oblivion almost religiously, while sustaining somewhat of a social life, and I only got almost 250 hours of gameplay in. Skyrim is expected to have over 300 hours of gameplay. If that doesn’t speak for the longevity of the game, I don’t know what does.

      Assassins Creed is going to be awesome too. I cannot wait to see how the story unfolds after the way Brotherhood ended. I don’t think its gameplay is on par with Skyrim’s, but its storyline is unbeatable.

Leave a comment